#OndoDecides2020: D-Day is here as guber candidates scramble for 1.478m votes


The stage is set for a crucial electoral battle to determine who clinches the people’s mandate to occupy the State Government House at Alagbaka in Akure for another four-year term that terminates in 2024.
The governorship election in Ondo State, according to sundry analysts might be down to the wire.
A number of factors would shape andcdetrmibe the outcome of the contest in which no fewer than 12 political parties are jistlinh for the ultimate prize.
L-R: Agboola Ajayi, Eyitayo Jegede, Gov. Rotimi Akeredolu

The contest is largely believed to be a three-horse race among the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Governor Rotimi Akeredolu,  candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Mr Eyitayo Jegede (SAN) and candidate of the  Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Deputy Governor Agboola Ajayi.

But, there are indications that Akeredolu and Jegede are primed to run neck and neck in the contest, which outcomes, according to Eagke Badger, pollster and consulting firm, said were too close to call.

It had posted some tricky forecasts  on account of its poll that placed Akeredolu at 36 percent, Jegede at 37 percent, Agboola at 22 percent with 5 percent of respondents as undecided.

The election is holding amid tight security occasioned by the violence and tension that characterised electioneeting.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission ((INEC), about 1,822,346 voters registered in the state but only 1,478,460 collected their PVCs.

The canddates are scrambling for whatever percentage of voters that will turn out to vote.

It impossible to record 100 percent voter turn-out.  Between 40 and 60 percent turn-out nay be recorded, given a number of factors.

The voters will turn out  Ondo in 3,009 polling units, 203 registration areas in the 18 local government areas of the state.

Meanwhile, State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Dr Rufus Akeju, has assured that adequate security arrangements had  been put in place to ensure a oeaceful poll.

“As we speak, everything required statutorily had been put in place for the registered voters in the state to vote for candidates of their choice on Saturday.

“In Addition, adequate security has been put in place by the commission in collaboration with security agencies through the Inter Agency Consultative Committee on Election Security (ICCES) to secure the voters.

“There is also adequate security for election officials, accredited observers, accredited journalists, election materials, among others, during the election,” Akeju told newsmen in Akure, ahead of the poll.

Below is the breakdown of PVCs collected according to a documentreleased by the INEC:

1. Akure South- 207, 238
2. Ondo West- 131,847
3. Ilaje- 126,749
4. Odigbo- 109,797
5. Owo-102,711
6. Okitipupa- 92,975
7. Akoko South West- 87,351
8. Ese-Odo- 66,481
9. Akoko North Easth- 66,290
10. Idanre- 64,438
11. Ose- 63,568
12. Akure North- 60,744
13. Akoko North West- 58,505
14. Irele- 57,651
15. Ifedore- 54,640
16. Ile-Oluji/Oke-Igbo- 54,391
17. Ondo East- 40,496
18. Akoko South East- 32,763

The strongholds of the three leading candidates are as follows:

Akereolu is from Owo (102,711) and Aiyedatiwa, his running mate, is from Ilaje (126,749)
Agboola is from Ese-Odo (63,481) while his running mate, Gboye, is from Ifedore (54,640)
Jegede is from Akure South (207,238) while his running mate is from Okitipupa (92,975).

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here