Yahaya Bello retains seat as Kogi governor

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Governor Yahaya Bello of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as winner of the governorship election held in Kogi State on November 16.

Returning Officer of the election, Prof. Ibrahim Garba,announed the results in Lokoja on Monday.  He said that Bello polled 406,222 votes to beat 24 other contestants, including Mr Musa Wada of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 189,704 votes.

Mrs Natasha Akpoti, the candidate of the Social Democratic Party came third by scoring 9,482 votes while Mrs Justina Abanida of the African Democratic Party scored 706 votes to come fourth while the candidate of PDF came fifth with 624 votes.

Garba said that Bello having scored the majority of votes and other constitutional requirements had emereged as the winner.

He said that 636,202 out of the 1,636,350 registered voters in the state were accredited for the election out of which 624,514 evetually voted.

Garba gave total valid votes cast during the election as 610,744 , number of rejected votes was 13,770 while cancelled votes were 149,576 votes.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply