Sylva Kickstarts Oloibiri Museum/Research Center Project


* Inaugurates project committees

Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva, on Tuesday, inaugurated two committees and five project teams for the Oloibiri Museum and Research centre which will be situated in Oloibiri, Bayelsa state.

In a statement, Julius Bokoru, Special Assistant on Media and Public Affairs to the Minister said the virtual ceremony was anchored by Engr Simbi Wabote, Executive Secretary of the Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board (NCDMB) “who is to head the project committees and chaired by Timipre Sylva who sponsors the historic project.”

According to Bokoru, the Minister in his speech said: “I am very happy to be part of this historic occasion set aside to inaugurate the project committees that will oversee the establishment of the oil and gas Museum and Research centre in Oloibiri, Bayelsa state.

“This occasion corrects a historical oversight with the decision to build a befitting monument in Oloibiri oilfield where the first field to produce oil in commercial quantities in Nigeria was discovered in 1956.

“The need to do this has been on the drawing board for over thirty years with no resolute commitment to bring it to reality.

“This change has been made possible by our dear President and Commander-in-chief, His Excellency President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR with his unwavering resolve to leave lasting legacies in key sectors of the Nigerian economy.”

The Minister further stated that the oil and gas community, the people of the Niger Delta, and indeed the entire country remained eternally grateful to Mr President for the historic approval

He said benefits of the project included the retention of historical artefacts of “our oil and gas journey over the decades, dissemination of knowledge to all and sundry, creation of an attractive destination for tourists, restoration of the image of Oloibiri community and creation of employment opportunities among others.”

On funding partnership, he said PTDF was to be responsible for 40%, NCDMB 30%, Shell 20% and the Bayelsa state government 10%.

Key members of the steering committee, he said, included Engr Simbi Wabote (ES NCDMB), Dr Bello Aliyu Gusau (ES PTDF), Igo Weli/Gloria Udoh (SPDC), Abdulmalik Halilu as Secretary and Hon Peter Akpe for the Bayelsa state government.

In his remarks, Governor of Baytksa State, Senator Douye Diri expressed his deep appreciation to President Muhammadu Buhari and the minuster (Timipre Sylva).

Governor Diri hailed the project as one that would preserve the history of Petroleum exploration.

He also described the choice of Oloibiri as “apt and commendable.”

Sylva charged all members of the various committees to perform their roles with absolute professionalism, patriotism and integrity.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here