Real Madrid win 35th La Liga title


Real Madrid, on Saturday, emerged the champions of La Liga for the 35 th time in the club’s history after thrashing Espanyol 4-0.

The result confirmed the La Liga title for Real Madrid with four rounds of matches remaining.

Carlo Ancelotti has however become the first coach to win a title in each of Europe’s top five leagues, adding La Liga to his titles in Serie A, the Premier League, Ligue 1, and the Bundesliga.

This represents a special title for the Los Blancos as it is the first league title that they have lifted at their Santiago Bernabeu stadium since 2007.

Three of their last four titles have been sealed away from home while the 2020 crown was won at Valdebebas, when the club’s home stadium was closed for construction work.

Madrid are still dreaming of European glory this campaign despite being edged out in a seven-goal thriller in the first leg of their Champions League semi-final against Manchester City last week.

Ancelotti’s side have already progressed past Paris Saint-Germain in a sensational comeback before another magical Karim Benzema hat-trick helped propel them past Chelsea in the quarter final stage of the competition.

Ancelotti’s side host City in the Santiago Bernabeu in the second leg on Wednesday and the Italian is aiming to become the first ever manager to reach five Champions League finals, having previously participated in the showpiece with Milan in 2003, 2005 and 2007 alongside his appearance with Real Madrid in 2014.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here