Just in: “SDP revolution” sweeps through Nasarawa as APC National Chairman, Adamu, suffers second defeat, loses Senate seat


The National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, Abdullahi Adamu, has suffered a second defeat in the ongoing general elections, losing his Nasarawa West senatorial seat to the candidate of the Social Democratic Party, Ahmed Wadada.

Adamu was the occupant of the seat until last year when he emerged as the National Chair of the APC. The seat had remained vacant since his resignation and until now with the emergence of a seantor-elect.

Instructively, Adamu could not deliver the APC candidate, Shehu Tukur, to replace him at the red chambers.

The INEC returning agent for Nasarawa West Senatorial District, Prof Nasiruddeen Baba, while declaring the winner at the zonal collation centre in Keffi said the SDP candidate polled 96,488 votes while APC got 47,717 votes, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) 46,820 and the Labour Party (LP) 33,228.

The APC also lost the Keffi/Kokona/Karu seat to the Social Democratic Party with Gaza Gwefwi retaining the seat.

The SDP polled 60,265 votes, the APC 28,417 votes, LP 29655, and the PDP 33,180 for the House of Representatives elections.

Similarly, the candidate of the SDP for Nasarawa North Senatorial district, Godiya Akwashiki won the seat and Abubakar Dahiru retained his seat for Lafia/Obi federal constituency.

The SDP, as declared by the electoral body, has two senators out of the three and two members of the House of Representatives.

The four winners under the SDP are members of the APC who defected due to irregularities in the party’s primary elections last year.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply