APC wins three senatorial, 20 Reps seats in Lagos

Logo of Lagos State Government

The candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have been declared the winners of the three senatorial seats in Lagos State.

A former deputy governor of the state, Dr Idiat Adebule, won the Lagos West senatorial election, polling 361,296 votes to defeat her main challenger of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Segun Adewale, who scored 248,653 votes.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) also declared Senator Tokunbo Abiru as the winner of Lagos East senatorial election.

The INEC Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Simeon Adebayo Oladipo, who declared the results in Somolu, said Abiru polled 178,646 votes to defeat Akodada Adekunle of the PDP, who garnered 80,249 votes.

Abiru is the incumbent senator representing the senatorial district.

The Deputy Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Hon. Wasiu Eshinlokun, also defeated PDP’s Gomez Adewale Francis to clinch the Lagos Central Senatorial District.

Eshinlokun garnered 131,828 votes, while Francis polled 69,320 votes, and OIadeji Blessing Tunde of the Young Progressives Party scored 14, 941 votes to become second runner-up.

APC has also cleared the House of Representatives seats in Lagos, with Speaker Femi Gbajabiamila being elected for the sixth time.

APC, however, won 20 of the 24 House of Reps seats in February 25 general election.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply