Anselm Ojezua resigns, leads remnants of Obaseki’s loyalists to PDP


Members of the Edo State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC), loyal to Governor Godwin Obaseki, on Wednesday, announced their resignation from the party to formally join the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state.

They were led by the former factional chair of the APC, Anselm Ojezua, in a move that confirmed they played a damaging politics within the APC.

The APC in Edo had been fictionalised ahead of Govetnor Obaseki’s second term bid.

The other faction purportedly loyal to Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, was led by Col. David Imuse (retd).

However with the dissolution of all state chapters of the party by its national caretaker committee, the Imuse’s faction was recognized and appointed into the state chapter’s committee.

Ojezua, in leading the defection by the remnants of Obaseki’s loyalists to the PDP, cited loss of confidence in the national leadership of the party.

He also alleged disobedience to the party constitution.

Ojezua announced his intention and that of the people he leads to join the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), in the state.

He said the resolution was reached at an enlarged meeting of the State Executive Council (SEC) of APC Committee members and the chairmen of all the local government area chapters and all leaders of the party in the state.

The resolution which was signed by 22 executive members of the party, led by Mr Ojezua and chairmen of the party across the 18 LGAs, said over 150, 000 of their members and supporters had concluded plans to defect with them.

The resolution read in part: “Having reviewed the said activities, particularly the romance between the National Caretaker Committee and leaders of a parallel group called the Edo Peoples Movement (EPM), who have been parading themselves as members of the All Progressives Congress in the state, in spite of their suspension from the party.

“It is hereby further resolved that all our members should join other leaders and members who have earlier relocated to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), with His Excellency Mr Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki and his Deputy, Rt Hon. Philip Shaibu.

“Consequently, we encourage our teeming members and leaders at all levels of the party numbering over one hundred and fifty thousand (150,000) to also renounce their membership of the All Progressives Congress.”

Please follow and like us:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here