Senate confirms Buhari’s nominees for Code of Conduct Bureau

Senate on Tuesday confirmed President Muhammadu Buhari’s nominees for appointment as members of the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB) after the screening committee submitted its report to the plenary.
Chairman of Ethics,  Privileges and Public Petitions, Senator Ayo Akinyelure moved that the Senate do receive and consider the report of the Committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions on the Confirmation of the Nominations for Appointment as Members of the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB) and it was seconded by Senator Orker-Jev.
The nominee are Barr. Benedict Umeano – Member – Anambra State – South East, Hon. Ehiozuwa Johnson Agbonayinma – Member – Edo State – South South and CP. Olayinka Babatunde Balogun (Rtd.) – Member – Ogun – South West
Senator Patrick Ayo Akinyelure while presenting  the report,  stated that the nominees of President Muhammadu Buhari have been screened and found satisfactory.
Akinyelure said there was need for immediate confirmation to enable CCB continue its work in line with the Constitution,  noting that the absence of members has created a ‘lacuna’  in the agency’s capacity to discharge its statutory responsibilities.
Senate dissolved into the Committee of the Whole to consider the report of the Committee
Senate reverted to Plenary and reported progress.
Senate President, Ahmad Lawan urged his colleagues to confirm the nominees since there was no petition against any of them.
The confirmation of CCB nominees came after the Senate resumed session from one month break to enable Committee debates on the 2021 budget.
Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here