PDP wins Kaduna North Senatorial Seat


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Alhaji Khalid Ibrahim-Mustapha of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as winner of Kaduna North Senatorial District election.

Prof. Saleh Ado of the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria, the INEC Returning Officer for the election, announced the result in Zaria on Monday.

According to him, 12 political parties keenly contested the election.

Ado said Khalid-Mustapha secured 250, 026 votes to defeat his closest rival, the incumbent senator, Kwari Suleiman Abdu of the APC, who scored 190,008 votes.

He said that Usman Bawa of NNPP scored 28,511 to come third, while Sidi Ibrahim Bamalli of Labour Party polled 28, 418 votes.

The returning officer also said Ahmed Wakili of the PRP scored 3453 votes; Abdullahi Suleiman of ADC, 3,678 and Hassan Muktari of the ZLP, 582 votes.

“Khalid Ibrahim Mustapha of the PDP having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared winner and returned elected,’’ Ado said.

Leave a Reply