Oyo guber: INEC set to declare Makinde winner


Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, is set to be declared the winner of the March 18 governorship election in the state.

Makinde, who is re-election on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has won in 31 Local Government Areas of the 33 LGAs in the state.

Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC) won two LGAs in the gubernatorial election held on Saturday.

Governor Makinde polled 563,617 votes while Folarin garnered 251,230 votes in the results announced so far by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party polled 38,757 votes.

The returning officer for the governorship election has, however, declared a 20-minute break before the declaration of the final result.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply