Makinde inaugurates Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission Board


Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State on Thursday inaugurated the board of Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC).

The commission will be chaired by Barrister Isiaka Olagunju while the Board members of the Commission are
Comrade Adeniyi Afeez Babatunde, Alhaja Ganiyat Saka, Mr Emmanuel Olanrewaju, Chief Kunmi Agboola, Mr Aderemi Ayoade, Mr Sunday Falana and Mr Adeojo Elias.

The Governor expressed appreciation to the House of Assembly for confirming the names of the members and chairman of the Commission in a timely manner.

He congratulated and wished them a successful tenure, while noting that the word “Independent” in the name of the Commission meant they were not to be influenced by any arm of government in the discharge of their duties.

He stated further that the mandate of the Commission was to conduct an inclusive election.

The Governor also charged them to imbibe a sense of urgency in conducting a credible Local Government election in Oyo State within the shortest time possible.

The swearing-in was attended by the Deputy Governor, Engr Rauf Olaniyan; the Secretary to the State Government, Mrs Olubamiwo Adeosun; the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Chief Bisi Ilaka and other cabinet members, as well as chieftains of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state led by the party chairman, Alhaji Kunmi Mustapha.

Please follow and like us:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here