Lagos extends ban on Okada to Oshodi, Isolo, Bariga, Mushin, others


The Lagos State government has added four Local Government Areas and five Local Council Development Areas to the list of councils where motorcycle operations, popularly called Okada, are banned in the state.

The affected LGAs are Kosofe Local Government, Oshodi-Isolo Local Government, Shomolu Local Government, and Mushin Local Government.

The additional councils where the total Okada ban is pronounced include Ikosi-Isherri LCDA, Agboyi-Ketu LCDA, Isolo LCDA, Bariga LCDA, and Odi-Olowo LCDA.

It was, however, gathered that the Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has ordered full enforcement of the Okada ban from September 1, 2022.

Governor Sanwo-Olu, in May 18, 2022, announced a total ban on motorcycles in six Local Government Areas (LGAs) and nine Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) of the state, noting that the ban would take effect from June 1, 2022.

The affected Local Government Areas included Ikeja, Surulere, Eti-Osa, Lagos Mainland, Lagos Island, and Apapa.

The total ban order extended to all LCDAs under the listed councils.

The Okada ban followed the February 2020 restriction placed on the activities of commercial motorcycles.

Sanwo-Olu said the government took the decision in line with the State’s Transport Sector Reform Law of 2018 to immediately address the chaos and menace created by operations of Okada in the listed areas.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here