Kano deputy speaker, 13 PDP, APC lawmakers join NNPP


The Deputy Speaker of Kano State House of Assembly, Alhaji Zubairu Massu, has defected from the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

Also, 10 PDP and three APC lawmakers have defected to the NNPP.

One lawmaker earlier joined the NNPP led by former Governor Rabiu Kwankwaso.

The lawmakers announced their decision in separate letters sent to the Speaker, Alhaji Hamisu Chidari, on Friday.

The Director of Press and Public Affairs of the assembly, Malam Uba Abdullahi, said in a statement that the Speaker, after receiving the letters, officially congratulated them and wished them well.

According to the statement, Ali Ibrahim-Shanono, member, representing Bagwai/Shanono constituency, has also defected to the NNPP.

Friday’s defection now brings to 15, the number of NNPP lawmakers in the Kano assembly, reducing the number of APC lawmakers in the house to 24 and one PDP.

Similarly, former speaker, Kano assembly and member representing Rano/Kibiya/Bunkure federal constituency, Alhaji Kabiru Rurum, and member representing Dawakin-Tofa/Rimin-Gado and Tofa federal constituency, Alhaji Tijani Jobe, also defected from APC to the NNPP.

Mr Ali Haruna Makoda, the former Chief of Staff of Kano State Governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, alongside party stalwarts from Kano North have also joined the NNPP.

Makoda, until Friday, was the Chief of Staff to Governor Ganduje before his resignation and defection to the NNPP.

He was sighted alongside big-wig politicians from Makoda and Danbatta Local Government Area of Kano State at the residence Kwankwaso.

Others who defected from APC to NNPP were former members representing Kiru/Be beji, former executive director of the Federal Housing Authority, Alhaji Abdulmumin Kofa, and former presidential liaison officer to the house of representatives, Alhaji Abdulrahman Kawu-Samaila.

Leave a Reply