FULL LIST: Osimhen battles Salah for CAF Men’s Player of the Year award


Super Eagles striker, Victor Osimhen, has been included in the 10-man shortlist for the 2023 Confederation of African Football (CAF) Men’s Player of the Year award.

CAF announced the nominees for the 2023 CAF Men’s Player of the Year award on its X account on Friday.

Osimhen and nine other players, including last year’s winner, Sadio Mane of Senegal, and Mohamed Salah of Egypt, remain in contention for the topmost Player of the Year award.

The InterClub Player of the Year award has 10 contenders, while the Goalkeeper of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, National Team of the Year, and Club of the Year have five each.

The ultimate winner of each category will be decided after votes from a voting panel.

The panel consists of CAF Technical Committee members, media professionals, head coaches, and captains of member associations and clubs involved in the group stages of the InterClub competitions.

The Awards Gala will be held at the Palais des Congres, Movenpick in Marrakech, Morocco, on December 11.

Below are the lists of nominees:

Player of the Year (Men)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria, Al Ahli)

Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon, SSC Napoli)

Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon, Besiktas)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco, Paris Saint-Germain)

Sofyan Amrabat (Morocco, Manchester United)

Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Youssef En-Nesyri (Morocco, Sevilla)

Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, SSC Napoli)

Sadio Mane (Senegal, Al Nassr)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men)

Mohamed ElShenawy (Egypt, Al Ahly)

Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Andre Onana (Cameroon, Manchester United)

Ronwen Williams (Sout Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal, Al Ahli)

InterClub Player of the Year (Men)

Aymen Mahious (Algeria, USM Alger/Yverdon-Sport)

Zineddine Belaid (Algeria, USM Alger)

Fiston Mayele (DR Congo, Young Africans/Pyramids)

Mahmoud Abdel Moneim “Kahraba” (Egypt, Al Ahly)

Mohamed ElShenawy (Egypt, Al Ahly)

Yahia Attiyat Allah (Morocco, Wydad Club Athletic)

Yahya Jabrane (Morocco, Wydad Athletic Club)

Peter Shalulile (Namibia, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

Ali Maaloul (Tunisia, Al Ahly)

Young Player of the Year (Under-21) (Men)

Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso, Bournemouth)

Abdessamad Ezzalzouli (Morocco, Real Betis)

Bilal El Khannous (Morocco, KRC Genk)

Lamine Camara (Senegal, Generation Foot/Metz)

Amara Diouf (Senegal, Generation Foot)

Coach of the Year (Men)

Abdelhak Benchikha (USM Alger)

Marcel Koller (Al Ahly)

Tom Saintfiet (The Gambia)

Walid Regragui (Morocco)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

National Team of the Year (Men)


Equatorial Guinea




Club of the Year (Men)

USM Alger (Algeria)

Al Ahly (Egypt)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Young Africans (Tanzania)

Leave a Reply