Edo Update: APC NWC appoints Hope Uzodinma as Chairman of Edo State governorship primary election


* Says Ajimobi is Party’s Acting National Chairman

The All Progressives Congress (APC) National Working Committee (NWC) after a meeting at the party’s National Secretariat on Wednesday appointing Governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo State as Chairman, and Senator Ajibola Bashiru as Secretary for Edo State governorship primary election slated for June 22.

The party NWC also appointed Prof. Mustapha Bello as the Chairman of the Appeal Committee for Primary Election, while Dr. Kayode Ajulo would serve as Secretary.

The NWC also move to settle the crises rocking the party by affirming Senator Abiola Ajimobi as the Party’s Acting National Chairman following the Appeal Court’s ruling that upheld the suspension of Comrade Adams Oshiomhole as National Chairman and in line with Section 14.2 (iii) of the Party’s Constitution.

‘’Due to Sen. Ajimobi’s unavoidable absence, NWC unanimously appointed the Party’s National Vice Chairman (South South), Prince Hilliard Etta to act on Sen. Ajimobi’s behalf, an action backed by the Party’s constitution which empowers the NWC to appoint one of its members in acting capacity and stipulates that the acting National chairman must be from the zone of the National Chairman’’, the party added in a statement signed the party’s spokesman, Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu.

Also, committees for the Party’s Edo State Governorship Primary Election scheduled for Monday 22nd June, 2020 and Election Appeal scheduled for Wednesday 24th June, 2020 were also named by the party.

Primary Election Committee

  1.     Governor of Imo State, Sen. Hope Uzodinma – Chairman
  2.     Sen. Ajibola Bashiru – Secretary
  3.     Alh. Abdullahi Abass
  4.     Hon. Ibrahim Sabo
  5.     Hon. Ocho Obioma
  6.     Hajia Amina Lantana Muhammed
  7.     Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye

Primary Election Appeal

  1.     Prof. Mustapha Bello – Chairman
  2.     Dr. Kayode Ajulo – Secretary
  3.     Hon. Umar Ahmed
  4.     Nasiru Ibrahim Junju
  5.     Hon. Rasaq Mahmud Bamu

The party also noted the recent ruling of a High Court which declared Hon. Igo Aguma as the Party’s acting chairman in Rivers State. In compliance with the court ruling, our party has recognised Aguma as Rivers State acting Chairman pending when new congresses will be held to elect party executive members at the ward, local government and state levels.

According to APC, “Sixteen members of the NWC attended the meeting held at the Party’s National Secretariat: 13 members attended physically and three others joined the meeting online.”


Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here