Edo 2020. : INEC Receives non- sensitive materials


The Independent National Electoral Commission in Edo State said it has received non-sensitive materials for the September 19 governorship election in the state.

The Public Affairs Officer of INEC in Edo State, Mrs Tina Obamogie, said in an interview with our correspondent that the materials had been distributed to the 18 Local Government Areas ahead of the election.

She also disclosed that the commission would use the 2019 voters register for the election which has 2, 210, 334 registered voters, adding that due to the COVID-19 pandemic there would be no distribution of unclaimed Permanent Voters Cards.

No fewer than 14 political parties will be participating in the election.

She said, “We have taken receipt of non-sensitive materials and we have distributed them to the respective LGAs.

“There are 483, 868 unclaimed Permanent Voters Card, but due to the ongoing scourge of coronavirus pandemic, this is not the period to distribute PVCs. Anything that has to do with the collection is not done this period because of COVID-19.

“We had the intention to distribute before the lockdown but we are considering the safety of lives this period. For that reason, we would rely on the 2019 voters register which has 2, 210, 334 registered voters.”

The commission had on Friday displayed the credentials of the 14 governorship candidates that will slog it out in the September 19 election.

However, speaking on the display of credentials of the governorship candidates, Obamogie the idea behind the display was for public scrutiny.

She added that so far, no complaints had arisen.

“No complaints from aspirants over the display of credential. The credentials were displayed for public scrutiny and to entertain any complaints that may arise thereafter,” she added.

Those whose credentials were displayed include Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party; and Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress.

Others were Obhafuoso Paul (Action Alliance); Akhigbe Ehiabhi (African Democratic Congress); Ibio Emmanuel (African Democratic Party); Lucky Idehen (All Progressives Grand Alliance); Igbineweka Osamuede (Allied Peoples Movement); Amos Areloegbe (All Peoples Party); and Osifo Isaiah (Labour Party).

Others are Agolebun Tracy (New Nigeria Peoples Party); Stevie Ozono (National Rescue Movement); Felix Obayangbon (Social Democratic Party); Jones Osagiobare (Young Progressive Party); and Akhalamhe Amiemenoghena (Zenith Labour Party).

(The Ledger)

Please follow and like us:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here