Edo 2020: INEC presents certificates of return to Obaseki, Shaibu


▪︎Court of Appeal constitutes elections tribunal

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Tuesday presented a certificate of return to Godwin Obaseki as the elected governor of Edo State.

The electoral umpire had on Sunday declared him the winner of last Saturday’s governorship election in the state after polling a total 307, 955 votes.

Presenting certificates of return to Obaseki and his deputy, Philip Shaibu, INEC south-south national commissioner, May Agbamuche-Mbu, said the governor fulfilled all the constitutional requirements to emerge winner of the election.

Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) defeated his closest challenger, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the election to secure another term of four years.

The Governor won in 13 local government areas while Ize-Iyamu won in 5 local government areas.

Meanwhile, the state elections tribunal has already been constituted just two days after the poll.

This was disclosed in a statement issued on Tuesday, September 22, by the secretary of the tribunal, Sunday Martins.

The statement reads in part: “The general public is hereby put on notice that the Honourable President of Court of Appeal of Nigeria Hon. Justice M. B Dongban Mensem has established the election petition tribunal secretariat and accordingly constituted a panel in respect of the governorship election conducted in Edo State.”

It added that the chief judge of the Edo state, Justice Edigin has approved the use of the election petition court hall in the High Court complex, located at Sapele Road, Benin City for the hearing.

Leave a Reply