Edo 2020 governorship: PDP drops zoning, throws chairmanship race open…Passes confidence vote in Orbih


  • Dan Orbih

The Edo state chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has resolved to not to adopt zoning formula in selecting the next state chairman of the party as well as the governorship candidate for the 2020 state congress and governorship primary election respectively.

The resolution was reached at a meeting hosted by the leader of the party and former governor, Chief Lucky Nosakhare Igbinedion in Benin.

The meeting passed a vote of confidence in the incumbent chairman of the party, Chief Dan Osi Orbih.  He and his Exco members were praised for doing a great job of re-positioning the party.

In a press release by the State Publicity Secretary, Mr. Chris Nehikhare, “the party leaders unanimously agreed that the stewardship of Chief Dan Orbih and his executives have been exemplary and worthy of praise.”

According to the press statement, “All the speakers from Chief Tom Ikimi who spoke on behalf of Edo Central to Senator Oyofo who spoke for Edo North and H.E Lucky Igbinedion it was so affirmed.”

It reads in parts; “The meeting adopted the agenda for the meeting and thereafter went straight into the main issues of road map to 2020.

“It was agreed that it was the responsibility of the National working Committee to conduct congresses that will usher in a new Exco at the end of the tenure of the present executive.”

“It was resolved that the Chairman at the earliest possible time will liaise with the National working committee (NWC) to know the time table for Edo congresses coming up in 2020.

“It was also agreed that the positions of chairman and governorship will not be zoned as the party must seek for the best materials for both positions irrespective of senatorial district.

 “Unity, peace and fairness was canvassed by all the leaders. With the problems in APC, marketing and expanding the PDP frontiers has become imperative.”

The meeting was attended by a majority of party leaders across the state and known governorship aspirants who have declared interest in seeking the 2020 gubernatorial ticket of the party.

Among those present; Chief Dr. Dan Osi Orbih, Chief Tom Ikimi, Sen Oyofo Sen Odion Ugbesia, Chief Mike Ogiadomhen, Chief Dickson Owere Imasogie, Chief Dr. Arc. Mike Oziegbe Onolememen CON, Sen Pharm. Matthew Urhoghide, Sen Clifford Odia, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, Hon. Dcn. Barr. Sergius Oseasochie Ogun, Hon. Joe Edionwele, Hajia Adiza Umoru, Hon. Dcn. Barr Pascal Ugbome, Hon. Larry Ogieva and others

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here