Court jails 41 internet fraudsters in Oyo, Ogun


The Ibadan Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has secured the conviction and sentencing of 41 internet fraudsters to various jail terms in Oyo and Ogun states.

The internet fraudsters were jailed after pleading guilty to one-count charge each preferred against them by the EFCC.

According to a statement issued by the EFCC spokesman, Dele Oyewale, on Friday, November 3, 2023, they were jailed by Justice Uche Agomoh of the Federal High Court sitting in Ibadan, Oyo State; Justices Ladiran Akintola and Adebukola Olajide of the Oyo State High Court in Ibadan; and Justices Abiodun Akinyemi, A.A. Babawale, and B.B. Adebowale of the Ogun State High Court sitting Abeokuta, the state capital.

The convicts are Siyanbade Timilehin Omobosola, Ilugbo Emmanuel Adekunle, Odude Ayomide Michael, Aderounmu Gbenga Michael, Oluwole David Dare, Habeeblahi Abdullateef Akande, Ololade Sunday Olamide, Ibrahim Victor Abayomi, Adewusi Mojeed Adedeji, Afeez Lekan Jimoh, Peter Seyi Iyanuoluwa, Olatunde Abass, Alan-Oni Joseph Opeyemi, Adetunji Abolaji Adeola, and Ogunmola Oluwabori Micheal.

Others include Ajayi Raymond Damilare, Cyril Stephen Oluwaseyi, Adekunle Solomon, Olalekan Taoreed Miller, Oladipupo Imoleayo Falohun, Moboluwaduro Olalekan Soetan, Ibikunle Oluwadamilare James, Olumoroti Ayomide Segun, Fetuga Olajide Abiodun, Agbolade Mayowa Oluwafemi, Felix Folorunsho Ayodele, Dauda Rokeeb Opeyemi, Adeife Adeleke Oluwasegun, Agbe Simon Abuo, and Alonge Timileyin Israel.

Others are Lasisi Hassan Ayobami, Olakode Ajibola Ibrahim, Ogundiya Fredrick Olajide, Emmanuel Chidi Peter, Ayanmo Taiwo Wasiu, Daud Sodiq Temidayo, Hammed Ibrahim Ola, Adenuga Tope Lekan, Ibrahim Odewande Olasumbo, Adekunle Habeeb Olamilekan, and Monday Blessing Patrick.

Upon their arraignments, they all pleaded “guilty” to the one-count charge when it was read to them individually.

The facts of the cases were later reviewed by the prosecution as they prayed the courts to convict and sentence the defendants accordingly.

The courts, having listened to the submissions and prayers of the prosecution and defence counsels, convicted and sentenced Patrick, Olasumbo, Lekan, Ola, Temidayo, Olajide, Ibrahim, Ayobami, Israel, James, Soetan, Solomon, and Oluwaseyi to one-year imprisonment each while Olamilekan was sentenced to nine months jail term and Falohun to ten months imprisonment.

Also, Wasiu, Peter, Oluwafemi, Abiodun, and Olumoroti bagged three months imprisonment each but Oluwafemi, Abiodun and Olumoroti were given option of N50,000 fine each in lieu of their sentence.

Oluwasegun, Opeyemi, Ayodele, Damilare, Micheal, Adeola, Opeyemi, Abass, Iyanuoluwa, Jimoh, Adedeji, Abayomi, Olamide, Akande, Michael, Adekunle, and Omobosola were convicted and sentenced to six months community service each as Adekunle and Omobosola got a N50,000 and N100,000 fine alongside their sentences, respectively.

The courts also convicted and sentenced Abuo, Miller, Dare, and Michael to three months community service each but Abuo got a N50,000 fine in lieu of his sentence, while Michael was to pay a fine of N30,000 alongside his sentence

The convicts were ordered to restitute their various victims and forfeit all items recovered from them to the Federal Government, including a green colour Toyota Highlander and one sky blue colour Toyota Camry.

Leave a Reply