Buhari writes Senate, seeks confirmation of eight Supreme Court Justices


President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday requested the Senate to confirm the nomination of eight Justices of the Appeal Court for appointment as Supreme Court Justices.

The affected Justices of the Appeal Court include M. Lawal Garba (North West); Helen M. Ogunwumiju (South West); Abdul Aboki (North West); I. M. Saulawa (North West); Adamu Jauro (North East); Samuel C. Oseji (South-South); Tijjani Abubakar (North East) and Emmanuel A. Agim (South-South).

Buhari’s letter reads: “Pursuant to Section 231 (2) of the 1999 Constitution, as amended, and upon the advice of the National Judicial Council, I hereby present for confirmation by the Senate, the appointment of the underlisted Eight (8) Justices of the Court of Appeal as Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, according to their ranking of seniority at the Court of Appeal.”

In another request to the Senate dated 14th September 2020, Buhari requested confirmation of the appointment of the Chairman and Commissioners of the National Population Commission.

The letter reads: “In accordance with the provision of Section 154 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended), I write to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the underlisted names of twelve (12) nominees as Chairman and Commissioners of the National Population Commission.

The appointees are Nasir Isa Kwarra (Nasarawa) Chairman; Ali Silas Agara (Nasarawa); Mohammed Chiso A. Dottoji (Sokoto); Gidado Razak Folorunso (Kwara); Ibrahim Mohammed (Bauchi); Hon. Joseph Kwali Shazin (FCT); Ajayi Ayodeji Sunday (Ekiti); Garba A. G. Zakar (Jigawa); Mai Aliyu Muhammad (Yobe); Muhammad Muttaka Rini (Zamfara); Hon. Engr. Bala Almu Banya (Katsina); and Mrs. Bimbola Salu-Hundeyin (Lagos).

Buhari, in another letter, sought the confirmation of Ambassador Muhammad Haruna Manta and Yusuf Yunusa as Non-Career Ambassador-Designates.

The request, according to the President, was made in accordance with Section 171(1),(2)(c), and sub-section (4) of the 1999 Constitution as amended.

Buhari noted the appointment of the nominees serve as a replacement to his earlier submission, wherein he nominated Air Commodore Peter Ndabake Gana (Rtd) and Alh. Yusuf Mohammed, from Niger and Yobe States respectively. (The Nation)

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here