Buhari approves reopening of four land borders


President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday ordered the immediate reopening of four land borders. The borders to be reopened include; Seme, Illela, Maigatari and Mfun.

This was disclosed by Minister of Finance Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed, after the 28th virtual meeting, which the President attended from Daura, Katsina.

The Council meeting was presided over by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

According to Ahmed, restriction on the importation of some commodities, like rice and other products, would however continue.

This is coming more than a year after Nigeria closed its borders in an attempt to control the smuggling of weapons and drugs from neighboring countries.

The closure of the land borders in August 2019 pushed up prices of staple foods such as rice at markets across the country.

On November 25, 2020, Nigeria’s Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed, had hinted that the borders would be reopened soon. She had said the presidential committee set up on the matter had completed its job and had recommended the reopening of the borders to the president.

President Buhari had also stated on December 8, 2020, during a meeting with governors elected on the platform of the All Progressives Congress, that the country was looking into reopening its land borders “as soon as possible”


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply