Assembly poll: Lagos Speaker wins constituency seat for sixth term

Speaker, Lagos State House of Assembly, Mr Mudashiru Obasa.

The Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Mudashiru Obasa, has been elected for a sixth term to represent Agege constituency 1 in the state Assembly.

The INEC Returning Officer for Agege constituency election, Dr Lukman Adeniji, made the declaration on Sunday at the collation centre in Orile Agege.

Adeniji said eight political parties fielded candidates for the election held on Saturday.

According to him, Obasa polled 17,214 votes to beat Raheem Alani of the Labour Party (LP) who garnered 3,933 votes, Kafayat Biobaku of ADC scored 62 votes, while the PDP got 1,609 votes.

“Mubashiru Obasa of APC having satisfied the requirements of the law has scored the highest number of votes and is hereby declared the winner and returned elected,” Adeniji said.

In a related development, Jubreel Abdulkareem of APC also won the Agege constituency 2 Assembly seat.

Abdulkareem, a former Chairman of Agege Local Government, garnered 15,676 votes to defeat Labour Party and PDP candidates who polled 7,159 votes and 1,598 votes, respectively

Leave a Reply