2023: APGA wins Nembe Constituency 1 /Yenagoa Constituency 2 State Assembly in Bayelsa

Mr.George Braah and Waikumo Amakoromo

By Amgbare Prince, Yenagoa

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has declared
Oteigbanyo George-Braah of the All-Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) as the winner of the Nembe Constituency 1 seat in the Bayelsa State House of Assembly.

The INEC Returning Officer for the election, Mr Okechuckwu Okeke, said that George -Braah polled 2928 votes to emerge winner of Saturday’s State Assembly election.

He said George defeated his closest rival, Hon.Ben Ololo of PDP, who is seeking third term. Ololo polled 2356 votes, while Kenneth Standfast of the All-Progressives Congress (APC) polled 485 votes.

Also, in Yenagoa Constituency 2, an area which is considered to be a stronghold of the PDP, Waikumo Amakoromo of the APGA won Hon. Ebiuwou Koku-Obiyai of the PDP, an incumbent lawmaker who has served two tenures already.

Declaring the results, the INEC Returning Officer, Prof Joy Ekeke, said that
Waikumo Amakoromo polled 4,971 votes to defeat his closest opponent, the incumbent lawmaker, Hon. Ebiuwou Koku-Obiyai.

Giving a further rundown of the figures of the result, Ekeke announced that Hon. Ebiuwou Koku-Obiyai of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who is running for a third term in office, polled 4,593 votes, while Izontimi Steven Bulo of the All-Progressives Congress (APC) scored 861 votes.

In response to the declaration, Mr George Braah and Mr Waikumo Amakoromo expressed gratitude to God, the Almighty and thanked the electorate for their victory at the poll.

The duo assured their constituents of quality representations.

Leave a Reply