11 oil thieves to spend 12 months each in prison


The Economic and Financial Crimes, EFCC, Lagos Zonal office, today, March 20, 2020 secured the conviction of eleven oil thieves alongside their Vessel, MT Jonko , before Justice Rilwan Aikawa of a Federal High Court sitting in Ikoyi, Lagos.

The convicts are Umoh Akaninyene Clement, Moses Ogbodu, Ignatius Okereke, Valentine Amaegberi, Victor Egbowon, Emmanuel Bassey, Ademola Olasode, Sule Godwin Anyebe, Oyelami Akeem Oloyede, Otuagoma Emmanuel and Anthony Orhieoghenebruru. .
Justice Aikawa found them guilty on all three counts and sentenced each of them to one year imprisonment on each count. The sentence is to take effect from their day of arrest.

The judge also ordered the forfeiture of a vessel, MT Jonko, laden with 450 metric tons of crude oil to the Federal Government of Nigeria.

The judge also imposed a fine of six hundred thousand naira (N600, 000. 00) on each of the convicts.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here